Letting Art Grow

17 10 2009

I think I have mentioned this in previous blogs, but I have been wrestling with how I manage my art work. One of the characteristics I’m seeing in my art is that I am never quite done with any piece of my art. Yes, I know that many say that one should say this piece is FINISHED and then move on to a new piece. But why? Why cannot art works continue to grow and change over time?

I think this will be or even must be a characteristic of my art. I cannot imagine stopping with any piece. There are too many ideas to explore.  For example, below are two different versions of the same piece.   Both I think are exceptional art in their own right, but each works with the same source material.

Cherry Blossom 01-F1

Version 1 of Cherry Blossom #1

Version 2 of Cherry Blossom #1

Version 2 of Cherry Blossom #1

As such, I am going to use the term ‘Version’ to designate a release of my art. Each version will by definition be unique and reflect different ideas and explorations of the work over time.

I probably could not do this if I was working with a fixed physical media like oils or watercolors, but since digital never degrades, and allows for multiple versions, it works well for my media.

This approach will also give me a solution in how my art can be made available. Some versions I can release as single unique physical works that I control through the Giclée printing processes for which there are no copies, and other versions I can release to digital printing houses for multiple releases.

Marla

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

